You are here

Economic Injury Disaster Loan


Office of Disaster Assistance

Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) are working capital loans available to qualified small businesses, private nonprofit organizations of all sizes and small agricultural cooperatives that suffered financial losses because of the disaster, regardless of physical damage. The SBA can loan up to $2 million to provide the necessary working capital to help small businesses pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable and other bills that could have been covered had the disaster not occurred. The loan is not intended to replace lost sales or profits. The combined limit for economic injury and physical damage assistance for businesses is $2 million.

Eligibility: EIDLs are available to small businesses and private non-profits with a physical location in the declared disaster area. Entities cannot have credit available elsewhere as determined by SBA. Entities must show that they are unable to meet ordinary on-going operating expenses as a result of the declared disaster.

Learn More:

Tags: Independent Ownership, US Citizen, Financing, Startup, Established, Small/Medium (1-500 employees)

Click here to suggest additional keyword tags

Related Content

Military Reservist Economic Injury Disaster Loan (MREIDL) Program
The Military Reservist Economic Injury Disaster Loan (MREIDL) program provides funds to help an eligible small business meet ordinary and necessary...
Business Disaster Loans
The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is responsible for providing affordable, timely and accessible financial assistance to non-profits and...
Revolving Loan Fund Program
The Economic Development Administration's Revolving Loan Fund Program supplies small businesses and entrepreneurs with the gap financing needed to...
Physical Disaster Loan
Business Physical Disaster Loans up to $2 million are available to qualified businesses or private, nonprofit organizations of any size to help...
Business Physical Disaster Loans
Any business or private, nonprofit organization that is located in a declared disaster area and has incurred damage during the disaster may apply...