Skip to Content

You are here

Minority/Disadvantaged Business Certification and Development Program
The website is currently undergoing maintenance at this time, you may notice some changes between 7:00pm EST and 8:00am EST. You can still browse the site and access all resources available. Thank you for your patience.


Office of Government Contracting and Business Development

The Minority/Disadvantaged Business Certification and Development Program, or 8(a) Business Development Program, is a nine year federal government contracting certification program established to assist eligible socially and economically disadvantaged individuals develop and grow their businesses. Business development assistance includes one-to-one counseling, training workshops, and other management and technical guidance. Eligible businesses must be a small business by Small Business Administration (SBA) size standards; owned (at least 51 percent) by one or more individuals who qualify as socially and economically disadvantaged, and who are US citizens of good character; controlled, managed, and operated by one or more individuals who qualify as disadvantaged, and; demonstrate potential for success (generally by being in business for at least two full years) before applying. Socially disadvantaged individuals are those who have been subjected to racial or ethnic prejudice or cultural bias because of their identity as a member of a group without regard to their individual capabilities. The following individuals are presumed to be socially disadvantaged: Black Americans, Native Americans, Alaska Natives or Native Hawaiians, Hispanic Americans, Asian Pacific Americans, and Subcontinent Asian Americans. For additional information, visit

Eligibility: Small Businesses that are unconditionally owned and controlled by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals..

Learn More:

Tags: Counseling, Marketing, Sales, Training or Mentoring, Startup, Established, No Employees, Small/Medium (1-500 employees)

Click here to suggest additional keyword tags

Related Content

Certificate of Competency Program
The Certificate of Competency program allows a small business to appeal a contracting officer's determination that it is unable to fulfill the...
HUBZone Certification
The HUBZone program helps small businesses located in distressed urban and rural communities, known as Historically Underutilized Business Zones,...
Service-Disabled and Veteran-Owned Small Business Certification
The SDVOSB (Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business) program provides small businesses owned and controlled by service-disabled veterans...
Native American Business Enterprise Centers
The Native American Business Enterprise Center is operated through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Department of Commerce, Minority Business...
Federal Contractor Certification (FCC) Program
This is a joint project of the VA Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU) and the Association of Procurement Technical...